Worcester’s premier college-preparatory co-ed day school serving students from Central MA and MetroWest, Pre-K–Grade 12


2017 Alumni Awards 

Join us in congratulating the following three distinguished members of Bancroft's community on their selection as the Bancroft Alumni Award Recipients for 2017.  Each year the Alumni Council confers Alumni Awards on Reunion Weekend to deserving recipients who are selected based on a detailed criteria.

Scott R. Reisinger: Milton P. Higgins  Award for Service to Bancroft School
Lorna Erickson Wayland ’62: Esther Forbes Award for Distinguished Professional Achievement
Benjamin I. Dobson ’97: Young Alumni Achievement Award
(Select Award title below to read biographies)

Milton P. Higgins Award for Distinguished Service to Bancroft School: Scott R. Reisinger

As Headmaster from 1999-2014, Scott Reisinger dedicated himself to the success of the Bancroft School community and the core values we hold dear. Early in his tenure Scott worked with the Board of Trustees to define a simple guiding principle for the School—every decision must first ask the question: What is best for the students? Among the many tangible accomplishments of his administration are the McDonough Center, the Hope Graham Program, the PreKindergarten program, solar energy on campus, and expanded global initiatives with China. Through strong and thoughtful leadership, Scott embodied Bancroft’s mission to nurture good people who are lifelong learners, teachers of others, and citizens of the globe.

Esther Forbes Award for Distinguished Professional Achievement: Lorna Erickson Wayland ’62

Always a woman ahead of her time, Lorna Wayland’s trailblazing career as a business executive included many firsts. As a highly-regarded human resource and operations professional for Paul Revere Insurance and later its parent company Avco, Lorna rose to the position of Executive Director of HR. When Textron acquired Avco, she joined their corporate offices as a Vice President overseeing HR Development for 30 operating divisions. As her career progressed, Lorna became the first woman senior VP at Wang Laboratories, and the first woman Executive VP at Citizens Financial Group in Rhode Island. She was also the only woman to Chair the Board of the Rhode Island Hospital. Now retired, Lorna splits her time between Rhode Island and Florida.

Young Alumni Achievement Award: Benjamin I. Dobson ’97

Ben Dobson’s quick rise into leadership roles in the competitive industry of television news are a testament to his talent and dedication. After receiving a BA in journalism from Ithaca College, Ben worked as an on-camera reporter for CharterTV's Worcester News Tonight and hosted the popular Central Mass Chronicles public affairs show. His skills caught the attention of larger stations, and Ben became an assignment editor at WHDH in Boston, and later Managing Editor at NBC in Hartford. Ben returned to Boston in 2014 as the Assistant News Director for NECN, the country’s largest 24-hour regional cable channel, and helped launch the new NBC Boston and today he is the Vice President of News at NBC Connecticut.




Each year the Alumni Council confers awards for achievement.

Recipients are selected on the basis of the specified criteria. Anyone interested in nominating a candidate for one of these awards for next year's Reunion should read the descriptions as they appear here, and then either send nominations to alumni@bancroftschool.org or call (508) 853-2640 ext 298 with suggestions.


powered by finalsite